Become an Election Worker
  How Do I?
  Levy Rates and Taxable Valuations
  Report a Request or Concern

Printer Friendly Version 
News & Information
Primary Election News: Candidate Filings for Primary Election are Complete
Posted Date:
Click "Read More" to view a list of all Federal, State and County candidates who will appear on party ballots, as well as sample ballots. Absentee voting opens May 7.

 Federal, State and County Candidates for the June 5, 2018, Primary Election


Democratic Party Ballot

US Representative District 2                          Dave Loebsack*

Governor                                                         Nate Boulton

Governor                                                         Cathy Glasson

Governor                                                         Fred Hubbell

Governor                                                         Andrea Andy McGuire

Governor                                                         John Norris

Governor                                                         Ross Wilburn

Secretary of State                                           Deidre DeJear

Secretary of State                                           Jim Mowrer

Auditor of State                                              Rob Sand

Treasurer of State                                            Michael L. Fitzgerald*

Secretary of Agriculture                                 Tim Gannon

Attorney General                                            Tom Miller*

State Representative District 27                     Richard Foster

County Board of Supervisors (1 seat)            Gary Bull Evans

County Treasurer                                            No Candidate

County Recorder                                            Gale Norman*

County Attorney                                             No Candidate


Libertarian Party Ballot

Governor                                                         Marco Battaglia

Governor                                                         Jake Porter

All other Offices                                             No Candidate


Republican Party Ballot

US Representative District 2                          Christopher Peters

Governor                                                         Kim Reynolds*

Secretary of State                                           Paul D. Pate*

Auditor of State                                              Mary Mosiman*

Treasurer of State                                            No Candidate

Secretary of Agriculture                                 Ray Gaesser

Secretary of Agriculture                                 Chad Ingels

Secretary of Agriculture                                 Craig Lang

Secretary of Agriculture                                 Mike Naig*

Secretary of Agriculture                                 Dan Zumbach

Attorney General                                            No Candidate

State Representative District 27                     Joel Fry*

County Board of Supervisors (1 seat)            Robert G. Bell*

County Board of Supervisors (1 seat)            Luke Helton

County Treasurer                                            Janet Pierson

County Recorder                                            No Candidate

County Attorney                                             No Candidate


*denotes the incumbent office holder


Absentee ballots will be available for in-person voting on Monday, May 7.  The absentee polling location is the Auditor’s Office, weekdays from 8:00 a.m. until 4:30 p.m.  In addition, the Auditor’s Office will be open on Saturday, June 2, from 8:00 a.m. until 4:00 p.m. for absentee voting.  Election Day polls will be open from 7:00 a.m. until 9:00 p.m. 

In order to win a political party’s nomination and have their names placed automatically on the general election ballot, candidates must receive more votes than anyone else in their political party for that office AND receive at least 35% of the votes cast for that office by members of their political party.

Voters are required to provide an approved form of identification at the polling place before they may receive and cast a ballot.  Pre-registered voters who are unable to show an approved ID may sign an oath of identification for an election held in 2018.  Voters who are not pre-registered or who have changed precincts also may be required to provide proof of residence.  Any voter who cannot show ID may have their identity attested to by another registered voter in the precinct who has proper ID.  Starting January 1, 2019, all voters will be required to present an approved form of identification.

For additional information about the Primary Election or to view sample ballots, click here.


Decatur County Iowa
County Courthouse    -    207 N. Main St.    -    Leon, IA 50144
Site Map   |  Contact Us   |   Powered by MunicipalCMS
See our RSS feeds Get our e-Notifications